Home  Search   

Today in Indian History
Events for December 22

22-December-1241Bahadur Tair, under their leader Mongol of Hulagu Khan, captured Lahore.
22-December-1510Affonso de Albuquerque wrote, ""My determination now is to prevent any Moor entering Goa, to leave a sufficient force of men and ships in the place, then with another fleet visit the Red sea and Ormu
22-December-1751Battle of Mandavgargh.
22-December-1843Debendranath Tagore, father of Rabindranath Tagore, accepted Brahmo religion at the hands of Ramchandra Vidyabagish.
22-December-1853Saradamoni Devi was born in Jairambati of Hooghly district.
22-December-1866Mazharul Haque, great social reformer, nationalist, journalist, poet, writer and politician, was born at Bahpura, Bihar.
22-December-1871Lord Edward Allanbaro, governor general of India (1842-1844), died.
22-December-1877Shreenivas Ramanujam, famous Indian mathematician, was born.
22-December-1887Srinivas Ramanujam, India's greatest mathematician, was born at Erode in Tamil Nadu.
22-December-1928An Alpine Romance', a 709 feet long sound film produced by Universal Picture Corporation, America, was the first sound film censored at Bombay on December 22. The other sound films censored on the same day were 'The Brox Sisters' and 'Bailey and Barnum.'
22-December-1939When Britain declared war against the Germans it appealed for help from all political parties. Congress put up some conditions which in other words were the immediate transfer of power. The Viceroy promised to give due consideration to the suggestions of each party and that the dominion status would be given after the war. Congress in order to pressurize the Govt. boycotted all ministries and started a civil disobedience movement and eventually resigned. Jinnah declared 22nd Dec 1939 as ""Day of Deliveranc
22-December-1940Manvendranath Rai established the Radical Democratic Party.
22-December-1945Shridhar Balkrishna Kulkarni (Pathe Bapurao), famous poet known for instant poetry and Marathi folk song writer, died.
22-December-1947Dilip Rasiklal Doshi, cricketer (India's main slow lefty post-Bedi), was born in Rajkot.
22-December-1966U.S. announces allocation of 900,000 tons of grain to fight famine in India.
22-December-1975Vishnupant Purshottam Bhagwat, editor, publisher and printer of monthly magzine ""Satyakatha"", d
22-December-1975Vasant Krishna Desai, famous music director, died.
22-December-1977Nalinibala Devi, Assamese poet, passed died.
22-December-1986India cricket team score 7-676 vs Sri Lanka at Kanpur.
22-December-1992Lok Sabha adopts the constitution amendment bills regarding Panchayati Raj and Nagarapalika Bills, and decentralisation of power to the village level.
22-December-1994Sunil Gavaskar takes oath of office as the Sheriff of Bombay.
22-December-1995A Russian-made AN-26 plane forced to land in Bombay following an Intelligence Bureau tip off that it could be the suspected aircraft which dropped arms at Purulia.
22-December-1998Janata Dal's S. Jaipal Reddy selected for the ''best parliamentarian award'' for 1998.
22-December-1998The National Award for the Best Technological Invention is conferred on Prof. J. R. Isaac, a computer scientist.
22-December-1998The Patents Bill gets Rajya Sabha approval.
22-December-1999CPI (M) is against India signing the CTBT.
22-December-1999The Government says there is no hidden agenda behind the US lifting of curbs.
22-December-2000Three Army jawans die in an attack by a suicide squad of Lakshar-e-Taiba at the Red Fort in Delhi leading to a 45-minute gun-battle.

Our Other Sites MediaWorld.Info